Mnozil Brass

I was very fortunate to be at Mnozil Brass’ very first U.S. performance, and let me tell you, this concert was unbelievable. It was literally the most musically perfect, exciting, and memorable performance that I have ever experienced. In the summer of 2006, the International Trumpet Guild Conference was held at Rowan University, so my best friend and I drove out to South Jersey (a place no God-fearing individual should ever go) to attend. It was my first time at the conference, and by the time that Mnozil performed, near the end of the week, I had already been dazzled by many fantastic events, including performances by the American Brass Quintet and my favorite jazz trumpeter, Arturo Sandoval. Being a very young player at the time, I was not aware of this group. I later realized that most of the people at the performance had never heard of Mnozil before since it was their first time in the U.S.

From the moment they started playing until the moment they stopped, I could not believe the sounds that I was experiencing. The level of mastery that they have on their instruments as well as the show that they put on is simply amazing. There is not another group in the world putting on a show like theirs. Also, there is not a single weak player in the group who is a “weak link” – every single member can play virtually anything. For any doubters out there, trumpet virtuoso Jens Lindemann had this to say about them on the Trumpet Master forums (another place that no God-fearing individual should ever go): “It is as ingenious as the Canadian Brass was when they started on the scene forty years ago. Mnozil’s time is now!” Check out another video below. Apparently it is useful to be able to sing!

Leave a Reply

